By default, owners and admins can manage other users' time entries, i.e. view, edit, and delete them. Members can view their own time entries and those of other users, but cannot edit or delete them. Restricted members can only view, edit, and delete their own time entries.
Track time globally
Time tracking can now be accessed from anywhere in the app at the same location: in the top-right header menu:
We have completely redesigned the time entry dialog so that, on the one hand, it no longer takes up the entire visible area and, on the other hand, includes various new functions.
Three options for time tracking
There are three tabs for different types of time entry, with the Timer tab opened by default.
Timer
With the timer, you can keep a stopwatch running while you work. As soon as it is stopped, the time is saved automatically.
The stopwatch continues to run in the top-right corner of your screen and you can stop it by clicking the stop icon.
Manual
Manual entry is very similar, with the difference that you can select the duration and date of the entry separately.
Range
The third entry option additionally allows you to enter a start time and end time.
Track time in the task dialog
When you open time tracking in the task dialog, the most recent entries from you and other people on this task are also displayed, provided you have the necessary permissions.
Time is entered in the same way.
Create multiple entries in succession
The Save button in the time entry dialog has a small downward arrow. If you click this area of the button, you are offered two save options:
- Save: Saves the entry and closes the dialog.
- Save + new: Saves the entry and keeps the dialog open so that you can enter another entry directly.
Track time in the My times area
The main menu contains an area called Times. This area is primarily used for analyzing recorded times. You currently find three tabs there: My times, All times, and Team times.
For both lists, you can create custom views – the function works the same way as you know it from other views.
The default view is grouped by calendar week and, using the date picker, is filtered by default to the current calendar week.
Time tracking in the future
By default, time can also be recorded for future days. With the Time tracking in the future setting, time tracking for future days can be disabled.
- Allowed – time can also be recorded for future days.
- Not allowed – time cannot be recorded for future days.
Tip
This setting is useful if time entries should only be recorded retrospectively or for the current day.
Time tracking in the past
By default, time can be recorded indefinitely into the past. With the Time tracking in the past setting, time tracking for previous months can be disabled after N working days in the current month.
- Allowed – time can be recorded indefinitely into the past.
- Not allowed – time entries for the past are disabled after N working days of the current month.
Time entries for the past are disabled after N working days of the current month.
Working days
The working day selection determines after how many working days in the current month time entries for previous months are disabled.
Note
This setting applies to time tracking for previous months. Time entries within the current month are not affected.
Track time for guests
In tasks with restricted access (via the lock icon), members with read permission cannot record, edit, or delete time by default. With the Time tracking in locked tasks setting, this can be allowed.
If Allowed is enabled, users with read permission can record, edit, and delete their own time entries in locked tasks. If Not allowed is selected, time tracking in locked tasks remains disabled for these users.
Note
This setting only applies to tasks with restricted access (lock icon).
Where can I find these settings?
The three time tracking settings (Time tracking in the future, Time tracking in the past, and Time tracking in locked tasks) are only available in the workspace settings. To open or change these settings, you need admin or HR permissions.
Further information
To learn how to access and configure the time tracking settings in the workspace, see the article Configure Time Tracking in the Workspace.
Note
At the moment, you can only create time entries via this area if a time entry has already been created for the selected grouping (e.g. in the current calendar week). But don't worry, this will change – there will generally be more practical options for managing time entries.
As soon as a grouping contains time entries, you can use the + at the grouping level to open the time entry popup.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.